Pumping Iron – the origin story for my future physique

 

Last week I completed a Wellness Orientation at the local YMCA.  During which the trainer and I walked through all of the weight machines and figured out what settings they should be at. He also introduced me to the networked exercise tracker they use on said devices. It is a nice piece of software. I can view my progress on each machine individually, at a terminal, or online from the comfort of my own home.

The linked equipment automatically sends the weight, sets, and reps to an online portal for me to view and track. Which is nice since I’m not the best at keeping track of things in the moment and don’t always have the best record of remembering to do so later. I wanted to do the same thing on the elliptical machine but didn’t quite figure it out. Oh well, there is always next time. The software from the equipment does give you some neat pieces of info as well. Such as during my last workout I lifted a total of 6,970 lbs over the course of 11 exercises.

I’ve been back twice to use the equipment.  The first time, I didn’t understand the rotation so messed up on reps and sets.  The last time, yesterday evening, it all clicked (even if I missed one of the machines somehow, facepalm). I now have a nice baseline (minus that one exercise) with which to judge my progress against. I have added each exercise to MyFitnessPal so I can add them to my daily diary. Side note, lets just say I love having that one place to funnel all my info into. I will have to do a write-up on it another time.

Back to the point of this post. The plan is to try and use the machines 2-3 times a week, throwing in elliptical running on those days to keep my cardio pumping as well. Below is the numbers I’ve got for the exercises. It would have been nice if the weights were more impressive, but I’m starting at a pretty low point of strength.  I hope to look back at these numbers a year from now and cheer my progress. Here’s to sore muscles and increased strength.

Exercise

2 thoughts on “Pumping Iron – the origin story for my future physique

  1. A small start is better than no start at all! Congratulations on getting your workout regimen sorted – I’m sure that as you continue to work out you’ll steadily see the improvement! There are also tons of apps out there (so I’ve heard) that can help you keep track of what you’re doing and when you’re doing it etc. so there’s no shortage of ways to keep on top of things! Good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

