Get Healthy With Breakfast

image

I am not a morning person. If possible, I wish my day could start at noon. Sadly that’s not my life, so up before the sun rises is the day to day occurrence. Along with not being a morning person is the fact that I’m not much of a breakfast easter.

Don’t get me wrong, I like breakfast foods. I usually eat them at dinner time instead. A lifetime of not eating breakfast had made it extremely difficult to be good about eating it on a regular basis.

Now that I’m trying to get healthy, and stay that way, in having to take a deep look at my eating habits. And here is the ugly trend I’ve found.

If I eat a small breakfast, each subsequent meal doubles in size from the previous meal. So if my breakfast is 250 calories, on average my dinner is 1000 calories. If I want too keep to a 1500 calorie diet I need to do better in the mornings.

Goal for tomorrow: come up with a plan for quick and filling breakfast ideas.

The First Mile is Going to be Tough

jogging

Last night was interesting for my fitness growth. As I’ve written in the past I’m not a runner and have a long road ahead of me before I’m any good at it.  The first step was to create a plan for myself. My first milestone was to run 1 mile in one evening. I’d be ok with breaking it into 1/4 miles with 1/4 breaks where I walk it off.

So last night I decided to push myself and go for it.  I walked for 1/4 of a mile then kicked it into high gear, or as high a gear as an overweight mid 30’s ex-smoker could go and jogged 1/4 mile. It took me 2 1/2 minutes to do it. My legs and lungs burned. I walked it off for another 1/4 mile. Gritting my teeth I did the next quarter mile at the same jogging pace. 2 1/2 minutes later I had now run a whole half mile.

While I may not be running on a beautiful beach like the picture above shows, I was still ecstatic to be running. The next round of walking then running went very much the same as the first two. As I ended my cool down and prepared to run that final quarter mile I worried that I wouldn’t be able to finish.  Well “F’ it, I told myself and began the first of 5 laps. Full four letter word said in my head of course. The first lap wasn’t bad, the 2nd ok, the 3rd I almost gave up and stopped jogging. But like anyone crazy enough to torture themselves I pushed on.  Before I new it I finished the 5th lap and had just finished my first mile of running.

As I walked my cool down 1/4 mile I couldn’t help but feeling some sense of accomplishment.  But, and of course there is a but, I wanted to do better. after the Cool down I did another 1/4 mile jogging.  If I hadn’t been on a crowded indoor track I may have thrown my arms up in the classic Rocky celebration. Not since I was 17 had I run 1.25 miles in a week, let alone an 1.5 hour timeframe.

Now that I know I won’t die if I jog for any period of time, I can move forward with my plans. Eventually I’ll be running a 5k marathon, but until then I’ll work towards 1 mile in one complete stretch with out walking. This time next month I hope to be celebrating that next milestone.

 

Image taken from: http://goo.gl/O0THZ6

Courtesy Creative Commons: http://goo.gl/jM8bIi