Water you going to do about it?

Trust me. I hate that title too. I just couldn’t help myself. For the past 19 years I’ve drunk more soda on a daily basis than I did water. I’m amazed my kidneys have not failed yet.

Last night I had an epiphany: maybe if I drank more water than soda I could save my kidneys and maybe just lose some weight along the way. I know right? What a breakthrough. Therefore I went to the store and found myself a nice reusable water bottle.

My next step was to figure out how much water I’m supposed to drink every day. My high school health teacher, not to mention my nurse girlfriend, would be so disappointed that I don’t know how much. Like every other good nerd off to the internet I headed.

According to Web-MD I am supposed to drink 64oz or 8 cups of water a day. Considering at my worst I was drinking 90-100oz of soda every day, I need to make some changes. First is to try and limit my soda intake. “Why don’t you just cut out soda entirely? ” I’m sure you’re asking. I would say, “why don’t you stop breathing?”

This is going to have to be a slow change or I am liable to go berserk on everyone in my life. So my goal is to get down to 20-30oz of soda a day, less if I have coffee. At the same time I need to drink more water. The hope being if I keep my belly full of water I won’t feel the need to snack throughout the day.

According to Live Strong I should be consuming 125oz of fluids a day to maintain hydration. More with heavy exertion. I’ve also heard that to lose weight a good rule of thumb is to divide your weight and drink that many oz a day. For me that would be 105oz of water. That’s a big jump from the less than 30oz a day I am used to.

So, if you’ve read the About section you’ll have seen that I have dietary changes to make as well as losing weight. I won’t lie, I do feel a bit overwhelmed but I am going to press forward. My water goal will be 124 oz a day. That amounts to filling and emptying my new bottle 5 times a day.

If I narrow my thinking to just needing to drink 5 bottles of water; it feels a bit less daunting than 41 cups. I’ll try to keep track and update my progress in my twitter stream.

Again sorry for the cheesy title.

One thought on “Water you going to do about it?

  1. Pingback: MyFitnessPal – Quick Website Review | BadWolf 2 Get Fit

Leave a Reply

